Introducing the New MRCOOL Smart Controller & App!

  • January 21, 2019
  • By MR COOL

Happy January, and welcome to 2019! More importantly, welcome to the new MRCOOL Smart Controller, the best wireless control system for any ductless mini-split heat pump system ever made (so far!).

What’s a MRCOOL Smart Controller?

The MRCOOL Smart Controller is our new wireless control system that integrates with your smartphone and/or other smart-home devices. Which ones? Right now the Smart Controller is compatible with both Alexa and Google Assistant.

Yeah, sure, all that compatibility is great, but what does this thing do?

Well, I’m glad you asked.

Amazing MRCOOL Smart Controller Kit Features!

  • Global Control – Control your MRCOOL air conditioner or heat pump via your smartphone from anywhere in the world.
  • Weekly Scheduling – Powerful 7 day scheduling functionality helps you schedule your air comfort as per desired settings and time.
  • Filter Maintenance Reminder – Because changing the filter is important, and you don’t need to keep forgetting.
  • Geo Fencing – Automatically turn your ductless unit on before you arrive and switch the system off automatically after you have left the premises.
  • Zone Control  – Create dedicated air comfort zones. Single touch control for all home systems by creating zones.
  • Usage Statistics – Keep track of your heating or cooling usage to control your electricity costs. Save energy, save money, live free, etc. 
  • Timeline of Actions – Check a complete timeline of actions of your AC. Check who is using your AC, what settings are being used and when.

Awesome, right?

Who wouldn’t want all those tools to get the very most out of their brand new MRCOOL ductless mini-split heat pump system? And we use that term generally, because the Smart Controller will work seamlessly with all current generation ductless mini-splits that we make. To learn more, but a new MRCOOL unit that includes the Smart Controller or buy a new Smart Controller kit from your favorite dealer!


273 thoughts on “Introducing the New MRCOOL Smart Controller & App!”

  1. Certainly hope you provide an update link for existing wifi dongles – download and update the files on the usb key. That would be the right thing to do.

    1. MrCool is an excellent product. It proved itself during our California summer HOWEVER, THE UNIT INCLUDED with the HVAC unit leaves a lot to desired.
      Firstly – do not adhere to the instructions included with the unit.
      Secondly – the item that refers to the Bar Code which supposedly is included really is not included as per the company’s SUPPORT.
      THIRDLY: the instructions which are found in the DONGLE box are something to be desired. AND. in my opinion are senseless

      IBM CLAIMED: The instruction booklets were more important than the actual program itself. However who knows IBM today

  2. Too bad i gave my nest away. I was under the impression the ability to integrate with nest wasn’t being looked at. Good to see though! Is there an indication how much and possibly a video showing replacing the current wifi dongle, on a DIY version of the MR COOL? Will the added capability be up loaded thru wifi to the new controller. How about a discount for those of use that bought the original wifi controller?

    Thanks!

    1. Integration with Nest is something we’ve wanted to do for a long time, and everything looks good for it finally rolling out this year w/the new Smart Controller. We will have an install and set-up video coming soon. Yes, the Nest capability should come through as an update for the Smart Controller. As you know, we don’t sell direct, but we are talking to dealers on discounted pricing for upgrading customers.

  3. “or buy a new Smart Controller kit from your favorite dealer!” Hmmm, I just did a deep net search and found no one offering this product. I searched by dealer “Lowes” (where I bought my 18k unit) and they haven’t heard of it. Can you offer some links that we can use to buy this amazing upgrade to my existing unit?
    Thanks.

  4. Just to reconfirm. You state that this will work will ALL current units. That includes the Olympus series as well? Before I was told no wifi on that series.

    1. All newly manufactured air handlers have a docking station in them. Previous Olympus models did not all have, so they could not use a wireless module. The Smart Controller will work with 2019 Olympus units (or existing Olympus systems that have air handlers w/a docking station in the air handler).

      1. Okay, Thank you. I went ahead and ordered three of these for my Olympus multi zone system. All installed and working well. Still working out the kinks with voice control through google assistant. Also mine would not hook up 5Ghz wifi (802.11AC) it would only hook up to 2.4Ghz wifi (802.11n). Just an FYI.

      2. I just purchased 3 of the new smart WiFi adapters for my late 2018 model Olympus Tri-zone (9k, 12k, 12k) system which include air handlers w/ docking stations and the previous model WiFi adapters (which worked great). The new adapters do not function in either of the 12k units and return a P7 error when placed in “AP” mode. All of the adapters work fine and register in the 9k unit. Is there a firmware update available for the 12k units that will resolve this issue?

  5. We need a contact number to set up our warranty. The link provided does NOT work and we’ve tried doing it on multiple devices.

    1. We migrated our server this week, so that may have caused the issue. You can call 270-366-0457 to register your warranty.

      1. I just purchased the new smart controller kit to replace the older kit that came with my DIY system I just purchased less than a year ago. I was very disappointed when I just hooked it up and find it does not see 5g wireless as this was the main reason for replacement.

          1. Ok thanks. Disappointed with that, but I do like the new scheduling feature so that makes up for it. Thanks again

  6. Any instructions on how to get this to work with Alexa? I’ve tried everything. Most I can do it turn my unit on and off with Alexa. For some reason the amazon Alexa up recognizes the unit as a lamp. What skill do I need to download?

      1. Are there plans to integrate Apple Home Kit functionality with the smart controller ever? It would be super nice to have.

          1. We would be very interested in this unit if it incorporated HomeKit compatibility as well. We would use it in conjunction with our home temperature sensors.

  7. Having problems with the app on my galaxy note8. After log in, any button I push just says “time out”. Feels like I’m a toddler again haha. Seriously though, is there a fix?

  8. Where would I go to find more info on how the dehumidification mode on my new 24K Heatpump works?? The remote user guide just says temperature set points are used??? Isn’t the unit supposed to be controlling RH (relative humidity)??

    1. All air conditioners and heat pumps automatically reduce humidity as a normal byproduct of their cooling function. You can set the unit to dry mode to increase dehumidification if the interior is particularly humid.

        1. When you activate any air conditioner or heat pump in cooling mode, it dehumidifies the environment as a byproduct of its operating cycle. However, air conditioners and heat pumps, especially mini-splits, are not typically designed to deliver the kind of humidity control you seem to be wanting.

  9. Hi. Will you make it a priority to post at least monthly the status of offering different lineset lengths. I’m remodeling and would like to install a 36k in the early fall. I have the 18k in my garage. Surprised it worked fine at -5 degree temps this winter. Also, please address the interior fan bearing noise. It is noticeable and the only issue to criticize on the mini splits.

    1. It is very difficult to post updates on products that are in development and do not yet have a release date.

      As far as the fan bearing noise, the interior air handler should be running very quietly. Give our tech support a call at 270-366-0457.

  10. Do all 2nd gen DIY units come with this new controller? Costco sells 2nd gen units, and I want to be sure that I don’t have to buy another part for above-mentioned functionality to work.

    1. All ductless products from all dealers will include the Smart Controller by 1 May 2019. Smart Controllers are available separately for purchase until that time.

  11. I have a central unit inverter Mr cool, do you have any smart thermostat avaailable for this unit ( 18 seer system)

  12. What the difference between the DIY-24-HP-230A and DIY-24-HP-230AE? I have been looking on Lowe’s and Home depot website but they only list the DIY-24-HP-230A not the DIY-24-HP-230 AE. Is the DIY-24-HP-230A 1st Gen and DIY-24-HP-230AE is the 2nd Gen Enhanced. What make makes it Enhanced? Where can I get the DIY-24-HP-230AE?

    1. The AE models feature the new Smart Controller. Most dealers should be listing products by the end of the month.

  13. Hi, just wanted to know if there is a discount for those who bought air conditioners before the new dongle came out. I bought my mini split less than a year ago from Amazon and would love to have the ability to control it through my Google home. I don’t think it’s reasonable to have to pay $40 for a usb stick. Thanks.

    1. The price of the new units is higher than the price of previous generation products to accommodate the increased cost of the new Smart Controller. That being said, dealers may offer discounts for the Smart Controller to previous customers at the dealers discretion.

  14. I’m confused. I have a 1.5 year old DIY unit with the USB stick that works remotely from my iPhone app. What does this new enhanced thing do that I can’t currently do?

    1. The previous generation WiFi app is not compatible with Alexa or Google Assistant. Otherwise the functionality is very similar.

  15. I am considering a 24k Mr. Cool Mini Split. Is the only difference between the 3rd generation Advantage and the 2nd Gen Enhanced is that the Enhanced is DIY and comes with a pre-charged line set? I am thinking of going with the Advantage and having a technician help me get the line set the correct length. I would like to avoid coiling extra. I am assuming you still do not have various lengths of pre-charged line set.

    1. You are correct on all counts. The Advantage is not DIY and we do not have various lengths of pre-charged line.

  16. Just finished installing the wi-fi kit and mobile app on my 18K DIY unit. Functions work as normal and I can control the unit via the app. When I go into check mode, I get a 4042: control failed message. Please advise on what this means and how to resolve. Thanks.

  17. So my original wifi kit no longer work?
    You just stopped supporting them and we have to buy a new one?

    1. Your original wifi kit is still working and is still being supported. You do not have to purchase the new Smart Controller.

  18. I installed my 12k DIY System this past Friday but I cannot get the app to connect to the system. I didn’t receive any QR Codes, I searched everywhere for them and when I try with the manual mode I can see the smartvac listed in the list of WLAN connections on my device but when I connect to it the app does nothing.

    1. I have the exact same problem. I did not receive any QR codes with my device. Tech Support does not answer their phone/e-mails and does not return calls when messages are left.

      Did you ever get this working? If so, how?

    2. I figured mine out. Try using the SmartHVAC app instead of the MrCool Remote app. I switched to this app and got it to work.

    1. Hey Chris, use the “Cielo Smart Home” under works with google in the Home Assistant app. Worked like a charm for me.

  19. One more question, sorry. Do you anticipate homekit compatibility in a future software update? Thanks.

  20. Hello, I ordered the DIY Mr Cool 18K and it was delivered today when I was not at home. However, when UPS delivered it, they left it on its side (even though the package says it must be upright) – I have left it currently where they delivered it. (Both parts were delivered on their side) Is the unit now damaged? Can it be used if but back upright? Is it still covered by warrantee? What should I do at this point?

    1. It should still be covered by warranty. You should inspect it for shipping damage. You should set the product upright and leave it upright for 12 hours or so before installing. Provided you don’t find any damage and you let it settle for a bit, it should be fine to install and you shouldn’t have any problems.

  21. Hello Mr. Cool,
    We have 4 mini splits and are eager to buy new smart controllers for all of them if and when the Nest integration comes out. We have a Nest but have not installed it.
    I read “Q3 2019” is when the update is coming out, do you have a new rough estimate to when the update is coming?
    Also: Do you have a link to where I can purchase these?
    PS. as a software engineer and tinkerer: I would love to see an API & documentation for your units
    Thank you

    1. We do not have an update at this time for Nest integration. We do not sell Smart Controllers (or any product) directly. You can buy the Smart Controller directly at online retailers like IWAE and others. If the API and documentation is available, our tech department could help you with that (270-366-0457).

  22. Can only one person in the household use the Smart HVAC app to control the unit? I downloaded it and it works fine, but then my boyfriend downloaded it, set up his own user name, etc… but then it kicks me off. I have to sync the app back to the unit, but then it kicks HIM off. That’s weird.

      1. Okay, I also can’t get it to work with Alexa. It did at first and now I don’t know what happened. I had to remove device and reconnect to wifi, and now Alexa doesn’t recognize the system as being on the network, even though it is. I don’t understand. It’s been very finicky.

  23. Hi, I have no complaints at this time except for UPS delivery. I received both 18k units today and have camera footage of them having the units stacked on end and manhandling them as they took them off of the delivery truck. The driver was very agitated with my wife. I will send photos of the packages (3 obviously manhandled) to ensure Mr. Cool has evidence to stand on when discussing delivery requirements for products sensitive to handling and storage. I am hoping that the well thought out packaging was able to protect my new units adequately.

    1. We’re sorry you had a bad experience with the delivery. However, you should really contact the dealer who sold you the MRCOOL product. We don’t sell directly to consumers. Our dealers and distributors are responsible for any necessary shipping.

  24. I have the USB dongles I bought last year for the Advantage I also bought last year. Earlier this year the new app came out and I had to delete the units out of the app and reinstall. Was working pretty good until June-2-19? Both of the units say OFFLINE? Did the app do an update that will require deleting the units again and reinstalling? No matter which app I have used you can not switch between heat and cool mode? It appears a server some where must be storing these connections and if the server goes down so does all the connections? Is this true?

    1. That should not be the case. Call us at 270-366-0457 and tech can help you troubleshoot the problem.

      1. One reason they provided was that in case the line is damaged and needs to be repaired, the copper allows for a relatively easy repair compared to other materials.

  25. Hello. I just bought a third gen diy 24000 and tried to use the smart controller but after I put it in AP mode error code p7 flashed up. I received another smart controller,but the same thing is happening and I cannot connect to the mini split wifi.

    1. If you use the Silent Mode (by pushing the LED button to turn off the LED) on the remote, it should not beep when you use the Smart Controller. However, be aware, that if you turn the unit off and on again, you will have to activate Silent Mode again.

          1. While that works to temporarily silence the unit and turn off the LED, the LED comes back on during transitions from the smart app and sometimes the beeping comes back. This is especially problematic for a unit that is installed in a bedroom. Can we please get a firmware update that allows us to turn this off for a unit in a more permanent way. Our only other solution would be to disable this on the board and that seems like overkill for something that is being software/firmware controlled.

          2. I agree with Paul Ryan. It is very annoying to require pressing the LED button to silence the beep every time the unit shuts off. This renders Comfy Mode useless due to the unit shutting on and off as the temperature thresholds are met. Please issue a firmware update ASAP.

          3. We apologize for this inconvenience. We always appreciate customer feedback, so thank you for your suggestion!

          4. I agree that there needs to be a permanent way to disable the beep so that comfy mode will work without causing the unit to beep each time it turns back on. It would be nice if you could set it to remember the setting to turn off the LED display and silence the beep when the unit was turned off. That would make things perfect!

  26. Great job Mr Cool! I called the customer support line and was treated very professionally. My problem was resolved by simply tightening a loose connection for the smart controller plug. Thank you very much!

  27. Just got my Mrcool Diy 24k installed. Was very excited to install the smartcontroller but after following directions and getting smarthvac app, the smartcontroller does not show up as Wifi device. Very frustrated with which should be the least frustrating part of the intall. Trying to find a customer service line but unsuccessful.

  28. Can a new dongle be obtained to add Alexa and Nest compatibility to existing MrCool (2018) split heatpumps?

  29. I am looking at purchasing the MRCOOL Comfort Made Simple DIY units for a shed in my back yard. The wifi connection from my house does not reach out to my shed. Will that make using the wifi/app controlled feature useless, or does the wifi dongle create its own signal?

  30. I want to change the username on the SmartHVAC app but I can’t seem to do be able to edit that

  31. I just installed an 18k DIY unit. I am trying to get the app to work. I put the unit in AP mode and it creates a “Smart_AC_XXXX” access point. I run the app but it is looking for a network with the SSID of “Net_AC_XXXX” The app will not continue with the registration of a new unit since it thinks the phone is not connected to the WIFI signal of the unit. My USB dongle did not come with any QR codes so I am forced to use the manual install method.

    I have tried to call tech support many times. I have left multiple messages without response. I have sent emails. Nobody has responded to any call or email I have sent.

    Can ANYONE tell me how to get this working? It is a brand new unit, purchased from Home Depot, installed within the last month.

    1. Tom, it looks like you got it working. However, you can always call tech support at 270-366-0457 for help when needed.

  32. Hello, I just purchased the 18k unit from Costco June 28,2019. It says it’s a Gen 2 but the wifi box that it came with is all white and reads “ MRCOOL Smart Kit Master Cade Pack 1pcs”. Is this the same as the Smart Controller enhances WiFi dongle?? I believe I was sent the wrong one.

    1. Call us at 270-366-0457. If for some reason you received the incorrect smart device, we will immediately ship you a replacement.

  33. I thought that might be the case, but the 4 app positions do not move the louvers at all. It beeps, but the louvers stay in the same position. The remote controller that came with the unit will move the louvers just fine, but not the app. The other functions on the SmartHVAC App are working just fine (cool, fan, temp., fan speed, etc.). Any thoughts?

    Thanks,
    cw

    1. I’m not sure what would cause that. Call us at 270-366-0457, and tech support can evaluate the issue.

  34. I just installed a 12k DIY unit from Costco. Works good.
    WiFi controller has issues. Does not work with Alexa. Louver position does nothing (unit beeps but not changing position). Fan speed changes are not synchronized with remote.
    Web site has a link to the wrong controller manual.

  35. After the latest smartHvac app update the schedule is no longer working, also Alexa can no longer connect with the unit. Is a fix coming any time soon or somewhere I can download an older app version?

  36. Just installed a new MrCool 18K unit. Seems to work just fine. But am unable to create a schedule that works. The user interface is very un-intuitive. I’ve tried and tried, but when I create a schedule and ‘put it into action’, nothing happens on the unit. I called the number that’s been posted in this blog several times and had to leave a message, but have received no callback. Is there any documentation for this app?

  37. Hello, I have been buying DIY Units (3) and installing them one by one. I have all 3 listed under my SmartHVAC App, and they can be controlled fine. But then I downloaded the same App for my son to control the same 3 units, but the app doesn’t populate the 3 already Wifi enabled units onto his app after he logs in under my account. Why is that? Please don’t tell me that each unit can only be associated with only one app? Thanks, Jeff

    1. A single unit can only be associated with a single app. However, there is a work around. Instead of using a different username and password for his app, he can just log into the app on his phone with your app username and password.

  38. I just installed a unit I got from Amazon. When in AP mode the only WiFi that comes up is the Net one. I believe I have a older WiFi kit because it tells me to download a old app that has not been updated in a year. I’m very disappointed in it

    1. Call us at 270-366-0457. If for some reason someone did you sell you an older model unit with an unsupported app, we will send you the new Smart Controller.

  39. I have the newest 24k DIY mini split. The unit works great, all features seem to work, and installation went well. It seems like this app and all the features are in the process of being updated and I think an addition to the app would be extremely helpful. If this unit could turn on or off when room temperature reaches a certain level that would be awesome. For instance, if you leave town and don’t want house to get lower than 40 degrees. You could set unit to the on heat when it reaches that temperature and then back off when it reaches 59 degrees. Unit already has a thermostat that communicates with app.

  40. Want to say I very much enjoy this unit so fsr. The only thing I think that would make the app better is to be able to program the unit to turn on and off when room reaches a certain temperature. For instance, if I’m not home the unit would kick on heat if the room was colder than. 40 degrees and off once it hit 55 degrees.

  41. Just purchased a DIY 18K Wifi Enabled mini Split. Great system and easy to install. Very disappointed that the QR codes were missing from the module container…HELP! I’d like t get this connected to my other smart home devices.

  42. I have a custom home automation system and am thinking about buying a mini split, but need one that I can integrate into my existing system. If you could make your API available for customer usage that would be great, and I could purchase your product.

  43. I really wish there were Apple HomeKit integration.

    Even better would also having API access so the community can creat home automation integrations for platforms like Home Assistant.

  44. Can the smart controller be directly wired to the unit? I have no wifi and I’m looking to have anorgrammed schedule for my cannibis garden

  45. How do I reset the WiFi kit? I bought a home with MRCOOL and it is WiFi enables, but since I don’t have the previous owners password, I can’t use the smart phone app. Is there a way to reset?
    Thanks
    Josh

  46. I have updated my router and Wi-Fi password and now I cannot connect to my units. In the app there is not an option to update the network password. I have removed the units and tried to re-add them but it just goes to WiFi settings and does not allow for QR code to be scanned

    1. I am also having the same issue. My MrCool has the QR code but the new application does not allow me to scan the QR code therefore, I can’t use the app.

      Please help!

  47. I installed your 18K system in my garage that is working as advertised. Luv what you guys offer for this market and can’t wait to go to battle with our NC humidity :

    1-Can this system work “automatically” like any home HVAC? While operating in Auto mode the desired temperature seems to be satisfied, but the system seemingly never turns off.
    2- The Smart App works awesome, although I seem to have lost the Turbo option. Are there any other options that are dedicated through the remote?

    1. 1. The fan does not turn off in Auto mode, but the compressor does.
      2. Not as far as I know.

  48. I just installed the 12k unit and using the app. Is it normal for the consensor outside to keep running past the specified temperature in the app in cool mode? I set it for cool at 73 and the room temp hit 69 before i tuned it off. In heat mode the outdoor unit seems to turn off once the desired temp is hit. In auto the fan keeps running but the outdoor unit turns off when I hit that requested temp for cool or heat. I purchased for the master bedroom at night and want it to cool to 73 and then turn off until the temp rises back up past 73. Should i be using the comfort mode/ setting or is there something wrong with the unit?

    1. The outside condenser should turn off when you hit the specified temperature. If it’s not doing that, please give us a call at 270-366-0457 to speak with tech support.

  49. I have 3 MrCool DIY units installed, from 2017, 2018 and 2020. Can I connect my older units to the new app? They are currently connected thru the old app, which is not great. Also, I obviously prefer to control all of my ACs via one app.Thanks!

    1. I do not believe there is a way to mute that feature specifically. However, it should not beep if you mute the unit overall.

  50. I have the 36K DIY and upgraded to the smart controller in April. Using the app up until this month gave a nice graphical history of usage. Recently the app no longer seems to display the history in a graphical form. Now it shows a line by line daily log of usage. Was graphical view removed in a recent upgrade? Is there a setting to get the graphical view back?

  51. Are both my husband and I able to have the app to control our devices? Would we use the same login account info?

  52. I cannot find my QR code to set up my app! How can I set it up without the QR code on the 24000 Advance?

  53. Hi what do the different swing positions in the app do? As far as I can tell, pos3 is a 45 degree angle, pos2 swings up and down, and “auto” and pos1 do nothing. Are they programmable?

  54. I have a DIY-24-HP-230A Unit that I have just now installed but can’t find my remote or WiFi module …will this smart kit work with this unit?

  55. I’m planning a dual zone system with the Olympus series, there will be a wall mounted unit and a ceiling cassette unit. Will the Smart Kit be able to control the ceiling cassette and all of its functions (temperature, air direction, etc.)?

  56. It always says off line and to power off the system and my router? I have tried several times to re-install the app and connect to the wifi. Not sure what I am doing wrong. Any advice??

  57. Any quick fix on how to change louver positions for Pos1 Pos2 Pos3 on the MRCOOL Smart HVAC app? Pos 1 seems to turn on Swing mode for me but Pos2 & Pos3 just beep without moving the louver at all. I know other people posted about this and were told to call customer support but a post in this blog might save future users some time. Any help appreciated!

    1. Sometimes the unit’s louvers can be out of sync with the commands of the remote or the Smart HVAC app. Turning the unit off, removing the wireless module, turning off the power to the circuit, waiting a few seconds, then turning the breaker back on, reinstalling the wireless module, and powering the unit back on again could help to re-synchronize the louvers to the remote and the Smart HVAC app. If this doesn’t work, give tech support a call at 270-366-0457.

  58. I think I’m getting two Olympus systems for coverage of 6 zones throughout the house. Will replace central HVAC. Will the app allow control of two systems?

  59. Can you program a skill in Alexa to change the temperature of Mr Cool DIY 24K during different parts of the day. Cooler setting in the daytime and then change at night? I installed the skill but didn’t find a way to use Alexa to change temps automatically. How can I do this?

  60. Just bought the four unit 3rd generation package of diy system. Each unit came with a USB and tiny manual but no QSR stickers enclosed or in manual. Is it one universal code to scan that I can obtain online?

    1. You shouldn’t need any QR codes to get your 3rd gen DIY set up, but they should be on the box to help you locate the app, which you should be able to find in your app store by searching for SmartHVAC on your phone’s app store. The USBs are so your DIY air handler can communicate with the app, which will let you control your mini split from your phone. The manual should instruct you on how to get that set up. If you need any further help getting your unit up and running, please give us a call at 270-366-0457.

      1. we are very happy with our diy ha21042 system,purchased 7/2020 the system was very easy to install using the informational instructions included. My wife and I have experience with remodeling, I am a retired
        mechanic, we are in our 70’s, and had a blast installing this in our 1448 sq ft. ranch home.
        the system easily handles the heating and cooling of our home. BUT, we have 2 issues.

        Issue#1, is with the remote/thermostat. there may be up to a 10 degrees difference in temperature between the “follow me” or room temp and the set temp reading on the wall unit.
        I have to reset with the power button, or change the mode setting to get the temps to get within a few degrees.
        Issue #2, the smart controller boxes (3) do not have bar-code stickers as advertised. in attempting to connect manually, the controller was not able to connect to my WiFi signal.

  61. Trying to set up schedule on off on app.What setting do u put on ?To turn on is it easy set schedule then turn on position.How to set to turn off at a later time?Set time then put in n off position??

    1. You should be able to let others control the unit from their phones by having them download the app and log in with your information. Otherwise, please give us a call at 270-366-0457 so we can help you to the best of our abilities.

    1. During normal function, the DIY mini split can cool down to 62 degrees Fahrenheit. It might be possible to cool to a lower temperature with manual controls, but that’s not particularly recommended.

      1. I don’t know about Jean-Marie but for my use case it would be nice to have a lower set point for winter, e.g. 55° for when we’re not here.

  62. I had the Mr. Cool ap loaded and working on my Samsung phone, then it stopped working. When I get to the Wi-Fi page on my phone, the MR Cool link no longer shows. What happened? This works still on my wife’s Apple phone.

  63. Will the new controller and app connect to a Home WiFi network with a name or password that contains special characters. I can’t get my original one to work after changing my home network.

  64. my mrcool do not show the room temp in my phone (only one of the rooms have this problem)anymore ,I can not set up comfy mode,what should I do to make the temp show up on my phone?

  65. I have two units, one is 2 ton and other one is 1.5 ton. 2 ton model app works fine but 1.5 ton model does not show me Turbo option on the app, I can see only FP option (I do not know what FP is). How can I get Turbo option?

  66. My only Wifi access is a Fair signal from a PublicWifiRouter which of course I cannot alter. My computer and phone usually can lock on to that Wifi signal, but it looks like MrCool cannot (because of its fixed location in the center of my house). I installed the MrCoolApp on my phone. My phone ‘grabbed’ the MrCool HVAC signal fine. My phone has both LTE and Wifi connections. My phone can provide a WifiHotspot (via LTE) and can also connect to Bluetooth devices. The one and only thing I cannot provide is a DIRECT connection between MrCool and the PublicWifiiRouter. Is there any hope in such a situation? THANKS.

    1. P.S. I have no interest at all in Global Control or Geo Fencing. I hope only for Usage Statistics, Weekly Scheduling, and maybe Timeline. ~ I LOVE my DIY MrCool! It cut my cooling bills in half last summer (with increased comfort) and keeps this increasingly-old geezer from needing to build a fire in the woodstove except in the coldest winter weather. (For decades I have tried to avoid fossil fuel use. I would prefer to heat ONLY with wood, as I have for decades, but MrCool has given me an energy-efficient compromise for my Last Chapter.)

      1. Thanks. I sent an email a week or so ago and received a notice that it was refereed to the app developer but as of yet no response. I just called and left a voice message with tech support.

  67. I have the Mr Cool smart controller application installed on my smartphone and it works very well. I would like to have the same application on my desktop computer (Linux). My mini-split is 160 miles away and I would like to check during the day without having to bring it up on my phone.

    1. I second Ken Morgan’s request! I would like to have a desktop version of the app, as well–either Linux or Windows, but Java would cover all the options (hint hint…. ;-).

  68. I’m having trouble my Mr kool app because I don’t have a QR code STICKER. I INSTALLED IT AND IT WORKS GREAT. Is there a way to get the sticker?

    1. You shouldn’t need a QR code sticker to connect the Smart HVAC app on your phone. The system should connect to the Smart HVAC app via the Smart Controller USB. Once you create an account on the app, and the USB is installed in the unit, you can tap the + button to start setting up your system. When you go to your phone’s Wi-Fi settings, connect your phone to the Smart Controller Wi-Fi, which should appear as SmartHVAC_B103_xxxxxx. Once you’re connected, go back to the Smart HVAC app, connect to your Wi-Fi network from the list that pops up, and press the connect button when you’ve entered the password. After this, connection should be complete. If you run into any issues during this process, please give us a call at 270-366-0457.

  69. Hi, I’ve been trying to get my smart controller to work on our Mr Cool mini split since last summer. I’ve called support several times and no one answers or returns messages. Not sure what to do. I’m a tech nerd and usually don’t have trouble getting connected devices setup but it simply won’t work with the instructions I have. Mr Cool support was so, so awesome before last summer. Anytime I had a question before or after purchase, the phone was answered promptly and someone knowledgeable was able to help. I’m a little scared not being able to get in touch with anyone for months now. Any info/support would be great.

  70. If I set mine to say 82 F on the app, it just keeps blowing cold and the room temp is now 77 F.
    Is it normal to just keep blowing 82 F ‘cold’ air and never stop when it reaches the set temp in the room?
    I have tried auto, and Comfy. Still just keeps chilling.
    Is there a thermostat reset or anything I have overlooked?

  71. I know you can shut off the beep temporarily, but I really need to turn this feature off for good. Every time it beeps, my dog freaks out and gets very scared. Might as well be fireworks to her. I looked for a way to do this through the app. Seems like it should be a simple preference in the settings.

  72. Yeah same problem. Assuming the thermostat uses the unit/room temp rather than the app/phone temp but the unit keeps cooling way past the setpoint. Ideally it would cycle off and on based on setpoint +/- deadband. Also, a way to turn off led from app?

    All-in-all, a truly kick ass system. Love the DIY setup, I honestly do see me going back to the “old school” way. Keep up the good work!

  73. We added our mini splits to my husband’s app successfully. As soon as we tried adding one to my app it removed the device from my husband’s app. Where are we going wrong?

      1. There are no places near me where can I get one online or do I have to check all your dealers to find something that I can get delivered.

    1. Thank you for your suggestion! In the meantime, you could set the temperature on the Smart HVAC app and remove the remote from the property. You can also program a schedule using this app, as well.

  74. Hi, this is my first summer with this units and in cool mode I set up my desire temperature at 76* but the unit surpass the desire temperature and keep dropping down until I notice and shut it off manually, is this normal? Isn’t it automatic?, am I missing doing something?

  75. After scanning the qr code, it connects to the unit and then in preconfig device, it fails at 99% and says something about ap mode timeout.

    It does not matter if I do manual or not, same result.

  76. Would like the ability on the app to have it turn on, from a completely off state, if the room reaches a certain temperature. I do not like the “feature” that the fans stay on all of the time. So we turn it completely off and only turn it on as needed, instead of having it maintain a certain temperature. Currently using the scheduler which works fine except I can only turn it on at a certain time not turn on it on at a certain temperature.

  77. I have a usb smart control for my DIY 36k, but alexa / google can’t seem to find it. Is there an older version of the USB controller that doesn’t work with Alexa / Google ? If so, is it update-able / upgradeable ?

    Thanks

  78. I have a Mr cool unit bought in 2017 that was using the older app. Will this new app work with it?

  79. Good afternoon. I have installed my 24Btu DIY system. Works great thank you. However I have tried numerous times to install wifi smart hvac and sync it … it’s says connection is successful… device is not syn’d with the cloud …its says device is offline. I pull down and it spins but it never sync’s or connects. Please help.

  80. I cannot run the app on my tablet. Am using current version
    OS, Android 10. When I try logging into the app it says I need to upgrade the App but I am using the ONLY version in the Google Apps play store. What gives?

  81. Should the wifi settings sync with the mini-stat and the controller that the unit came with? Can all three be used together or do I have to choose one of the three control methods?

  82. I got the app to connect to my mini split for a few days and it worked great. It no longer works and when I try to go through the set up process again it isn’t working. I have reconnected the USB and powered the wall unit on and off but my phone doesn’t see the SmartHVAC WiFi network to connect to. I’m not sure what to do now.

  83. I currently have 3 Mr Cool Mini splits connected to my app. 1 of them showed up today as disconnected. When I tried to reconnect, it is not showing any available wifi, even though I have reinstalled the USB and powered the unit several times. The other 2 are still connected just fine.

  84. The app and dongle work great, but unfortunately, the app (comfy mode at least) tends to be overridden by the mini stat via IR, and or the normal remote. Hard to find info on proper interactions between remotes and apps.

    Z

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Are you a MRCOOL reseller or installer?
For questions about becoming a reseller or representative call 270-366-0457.

Sign Up